HD BS

The latest marketing blurb giving me the sh!ts is the following one: “our phone can do HD video recording with our amazing 5 megapixels camera“, etc, etc… People get excited: “maaan, check out the quality of my sh!t! Insane!” Yeah, it’s insanity alright, but one had to pin-point that more precisely.

I wonder how can you compare a 720p HD video shot with an iPhone 4 with a sample filmed with a… let’s say a $40k Panasonic AJ-HPX2700 2/3 3-CCD 16:9 P2 VariCam Camcorder – the same camera used in the BBC Planet Earth documentary. How can you call ‘HD movie’ something shot with a pocket device?!?! I have HD video recording capability on my Nikon D90 and still can’t compare it with what I’m watching on my screen, coming from a Blu-Ray source.

Still, I have no proper explanation – I lack the technical background on that so until I dig something out I will refrain from making further comments, other than my ranting 🙂

Panasonic AJ-HPX2700 2/3 3-CCD 16:9 P2 VariCam Camcroder
2 thoughts on “HD BS

Leave a Reply

